Art

Sunflowers

The new look is yellow!

To me, the colour of Van Gogh.

In the recent past, I have been very interested in modern art, impressionism and in particular, Vincent Van Gogh.

I think it all started when I watched Vincent and the Doctor a while ago.

It was a moving episode and I wanted to learn a lot more about this mad genius.

I eventually read a book on Van Gogh, which focussed on his paintings that are exquisite, went to the Museum of Modern Art in New York and gazed at the Starry Night, went to the Van Gogh museum in Amsterdam and saw the Starry Night over the Rhone, watched some cool TED video* on Van Gogh and am currently reading the letters that he wrote. Somehow, it all makes Van Gogh seem very human and accessible. Like his art isn’t just for some wonderfully talented artist on the way to greatness but it’s for me too.

This year I intend to read a lot more and understand Vincent’s paintings better but also just enjoy them with an amateur eye and bask in the simple joy of seeing a vase of yellow sunflowers.

*Some cool TED video:

Leave a Reply

